Business Community Joins Together to Host Candidate Forum

Ann Marie Sorrell
August 12, 2014
Media Contact:
Ann Marie Sorrell
P: 561.531.4046




WEST PALM BEACH, FL –  August 11, 2014 –  The Black Chamber of Commerce of Palm Beach County, Central Palm Beach County Chamber of Commerce, Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Palm Beach County, Leadership Palm Beach County, and the Women’s Chamber of Commerce of Palm Beach County have joined together to host the 2014 Candidates Forum.  The Candidates Forum will be held on Wednesday, August 13, 2014 at Duncan Theater on the Lake Worth campus of Palm Beach State College (4200 Congress Avenue, Lake Worth) from 6:00pm-8:00pm.   Michael Williams from WPTV News Channel 5 will serve as our Moderator for the evening.  The Forum is open and FREE to the public to attend. 
“Civic awareness and engagement is at vital to Palm Beach County's success.  These five organizations have come together to provide an opportunity to the public to hear from our local candidates. We hope everyone will take the opportunity to educate themselves on the issues important to our community”, says Christina Lambert, Executive Director of Leadership Palm Beach County. 
Local, contested candidates are invited to participate and will be given three minutes for an minute introductory speech which will include why they are in the race, their background and qualifications and any other information that they want to add.  Candidates will be given two questions and one minute to respond.  Due to time constraints, members of the public will not be allowed to ask questions.
For more information, please contact Christina Lambert at (561) 833-4321 or email  For media inquiries, please contact Ann Marie Sorrell at 561.531.4046 or
Confirmed Candidates:

Bruno Moore, State Senator, Dist. 32
Ellyn Bogdanoff, State Senator, Dist. 34
Maria Lorts Sachs, State Senator, Dist. 34
Joshua Izaak, State Representative, Dist. 81
Kevin Rader, State Representative, Dist. 81
Mary W. Higgins, State Representative, Dist. 82
Stuart Mears, State Representative, Dist. 86
Mark Pafford, State Representative, Dist. 86
Bobby Powell, State Representative, Dist. 88
Diana Lewis, Circuit Court Judge, Grp. 14
Jessica Ticktin, Circuit Court Judge, Grp. 14
Maxine Dianne Cheesman, Circuit Court Judge, Grp. 30
Jaimie Goodman, Circuit Court Judge, Grp. 30
Peggy Rowe-Linn, Circuit Court Judge, Grp. 30
Kathy Foster, County Commissioner, Dist. 6
Melissa McKinlay, County Commissioner, Dist. 6
Karen Brill, School Board, Dist. 3
John Michael Hartman, School Board, Dist. 3
David Benoit Mech, School Board, Dist. 3
Tom Sutterfield, School Board, Dist. 4
Justin Katz, School Board, Dist. 4
Larry F. Rosensweig, School Board, Dist. 4
Erica Whitfield, School Board, Dist. 4
Marcia Andrews, School Board, Dist. 6
Carla Donaldson, School Board, Dist. 6
Joe Moore, School Board, Dist. 6
Debra L. Robinson, School Board, Dist. 7
Ralph Bair, Indian Trail Improvement District Seat 3
Alan Ballweg, Indian Trail Improvement District Seat 3
Eva S. Webb, Palm Beach Soil & Water Conservation Group 5
Kesnel Theus, Jr., Port of Palm Beach Group 5
Peyton McArthur, Port of Palm Beach Group 5

# # #