LPBC Committees

Volunteers are at the heart of Leadership Palm Beach County, and our committees are a great way for alumni to stay engaged in the leadership of the organization.

Committee chairs are appointed by the board chair for a one-year renewable term and work in partnership with Leadership Palm Beach County staff. All committee members must be LPBC alumni or community leaders in good standing and must be able to fulfill the primary responsibilities of the committee. 

Below are a list of committees, along with its chairs and a short description. If you would like to join or learn more information about any committees, please contact info@leadershippbc.org.

Program Committees

Program Chairs: Mary Aguiar ('13), Seth Bernstein ('19), & Lauren McClellan ('17)

Primary Goal: Develop the Leadership Engage curriculum to provide information to emerging leaders and equip participants with knowledge of various challenges, issues, and initiatives in Palm Beach County. 

Responsibilities: Serve on a Session Day subcommittee to help develop that session day's agenda, secure and communicate with speakers, gather sponsors, and review evaluations for improvement from year to year. 

Program Chairs: Bill Foman ('14), Chris Snyder ('17), Amy Brand ('18), Caryn Stevens ('19) & Erica Whitfield ('14)

Primary Goal: Prepare promising high school juniors for future success and civic engagement in Palm Beach County.  

Responsibilities: Serve on a Session Day subcommittee to help develop that session day's agenda, secure and communicate with speakers, gather sponsors, and review evaluations for improvement from year to year. The committee is also responsible for Opening Retreat and Graduation planning, as well as reviewing scholarship applications and selecting the recipients. 

Program Chairs: Bradley Jackson ('22) & Liz Mariaca ('20)

Primary Goal: Design and deliver the 2 1/2 day community leadership program for busy executives and professionals new to Palm Beach County. 

Responsibilities: Develop the Focus Program agenda, secure and communicate with speakers, gather sponsors, and review evaluations for improvement from year to year. 

Program Chair: Jack Lansing ('04) & Mario Guzman ('20)

Primary Goal: Design and deliver community leadership programming.

Responsibilities: Plan workshops, secure and communicate with speakers, gather sponsors, and review evaluations for improvement from year to year. Workshops planned by the Aspire Committee include Lunch & Learns, Legislative Updates, Beyond Politics Breakfasts, COPE, and other educational programs.

Event Committees

Committee Chairs: Susy Díaz Piesco ('21) & Bonni Funt ('22)

Honorary Chair: Senator Bobby Powell

Primary Goal: Reconnect alumni during the holidays, provide a mid-year update on the organization and facilitate a toy-drive benefiting local organizations.

Responsibilities: Assist with solicitation of sponsorships and ticket sales and oversee the event logistics including toy drive, programming, and silent auction.

Committee Chairs: Kelly Ring ('14) and Paul Shalhoub ('19) 

Primary Goal: Reconnect and entertain alumni and guests with a unique, high energy night on the town with Nashville’s top songwriters while raising funds to support the Grow Program.

Responsibilities: Coordinate all aspects of producing the event including pushing ticket sales, design and execution of a successful show, and solicitation of sponsors. 

Committee Chairs: Carrie Browne ('19) and Donald Smith-Browne ('20)

Primary Goal: Organize the last LPBC event of the fiscal year, which celebrates the graduating Engage class as well as the Leadership Excellence Awards nominees and recipients.

Responsibilities: Oversee and implement the LEA nomination process, identify sponsors and coordinate the event details to spotlight nominees, award recipients, and the graduating class.

Mission Support Committees

Committee Chairs: Jennifer Brown ('02) & Michael Napoleone ('22)

Primary Goal: Encourage alumni commitment and engagement.

Responsibilities: Help coordinate and facilitate events to engage Alumni, including networking events, happy hours, Alumni get togethers, and Friends & Family events.

Committee Chairs: James Garvin ('18), Adriene Tynes ('18), Audy Johnston ('23) & Cassius Johnson ('23)

Primary Goal: The committee’s primary goal is to successfully select and guide the class projects for the Engage Forward Program.  

Responsibilities: The committee is responsible for the development and dissemination of the RFP, to provide guidance for proposing organizations as they develop proposals, and to select finalists. The committee also guides the Class through selection then execution of the Class Projects.

Committee Chairs: Jessica Cecere ('00), Kim Lea ('16), Ofelia Utset ('13) & Amy Terwilleger ('18)

Primary Goal: Plan and facilitate the opening retreat each year for the Leadership Engage Program. 

Responsibilities: The committee helps to refine and develop the agendas, activities, and experiences that help bond the class during the opening retreat for a more productive program experience. 

Committee Chair: Brittany Ainsworth ('22) & Christina Romelus ('20)

Primary Goal: Attract qualified applicants from diverse industries and backgrounds for our Engage, Focus, and Aspire programs.

Responsibilities: Strategically identify individuals and organizations for candidate recruitment as well as help secure and plan information sessions throughout the county.

Committee Chair: Board Treasurer Antonio Duboy ('08)

This committee is responsible for the financial oversight of Leadership, including developing and overseeing the preparation of the Annual Budget, monitoring adherence to the Annual Budget, developing and preparing periodic financial reports to the Executive Committee and Board of Governors, overseeing investments of Leadership, and developing and recommending financial control and policies.  All members are appointed by the President.